The Wolseley Forum

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Oxford ser IV Handbrake cable
Martin Hamilton
post 12 Aug 2017, 18:42
Post #1


Super Poster
******

Group: Forum Member
Posts: 213
Joined: 2-June 17
From: Chilton Polden, Yokelshire, Somerset
Member No.: 25,499
Proud citizen of: en


Good day everyone
Does anyone have a reference book or intinmate knowledge that will tell me of a compatible handbrake cable for my car? No joy on t'internet (yet) and I don't want to buy one on spec. Mine's frayed and jamming in the on position, which is a tad inconvenient!!

Cheers!
Martin
Go to the top of the page
PM  
+Quote Post
Penguin45
post 12 Aug 2017, 19:39
Post #2


Administrator
Group Icon

Group: Administrator
Posts: 6,660
Joined: 26-November 08
From: Soviet Republic of West Yorkshire
Member No.: 56
Proud citizen of: aq


Hi Martin,

SPEEDY CABLES and SPEEDOGRAPH RICHFIELD should be able to help you. If they haven't got a spec they can copy your old cable.

P45.
Go to the top of the page
PM  
+Quote Post
Martin Hamilton
post 12 Aug 2017, 20:00
Post #3


Super Poster
******

Group: Forum Member
Posts: 213
Joined: 2-June 17
From: Chilton Polden, Yokelshire, Somerset
Member No.: 25,499
Proud citizen of: en


QUOTE (Penguin45 @ 12 Aug 2017, 19:39 ) *
Hi Martin,

SPEEDY CABLES and SPEEDOGRAPH RICHFIELD should be able to help you. If they haven't got a spec they can copy your old cable.

P45.


Thanks for that mate, speedograph-richfield list my cable in their application list so that's a winner for me! I might have to drive the car home without a handbrake though as I don't suppose they're likely to be able to supply it next week and my friend needs his workshop back, but I can always live in hope :-)

Cheers!
Martin
Go to the top of the page
PM  
+Quote Post
webmonster
post 12 Aug 2017, 21:18
Post #4


Wolseley Fanatic
Group Icon

Group: Morris Member
Posts: 1,978
Joined: 28-September 10
From: Taranaki
Member No.: 922
Proud citizen of: nz


If you are changing the handbrake cable then there are two rubber bushes on the axle end of the mounting that can benefit from replacement.

See brief thread here:
http://www.wolseleyforum.com/index.php?sho...mp;hl=handbrake

Go to the top of the page
PMEmail Poster  
+Quote Post
Martin Hamilton
post 13 Aug 2017, 14:18
Post #5


Super Poster
******

Group: Forum Member
Posts: 213
Joined: 2-June 17
From: Chilton Polden, Yokelshire, Somerset
Member No.: 25,499
Proud citizen of: en


QUOTE (webmonster @ 12 Aug 2017, 21:18 ) *
If you are changing the handbrake cable then there are two rubber bushes on the axle end of the mounting that can benefit from replacement.

See brief thread here:
http://www.wolseleyforum.com/index.php?sho...mp;hl=handbrake


Ta mate, I've ordered a pair from Rimmer Brothers, which will doubtless arrive well in advance of the cable itself as that's a bespoke job unless speedograph-richfield are short of work or actually have a ready-made one in stock.

Cheers!
Martin

This post has been edited by Martin Hamilton: 13 Aug 2017, 14:44
Go to the top of the page
PM  
+Quote Post
Martin Hamilton
post 13 Aug 2017, 14:41
Post #6


Super Poster
******

Group: Forum Member
Posts: 213
Joined: 2-June 17
From: Chilton Polden, Yokelshire, Somerset
Member No.: 25,499
Proud citizen of: en


I still have some fait hope of buying a cable off the shelf.

Looking at pictures in Eatlpart's catalogue for an A55 Oxford series 5 handbrake cable http://www.earlpartstore.co.uk/product_inf...products_id=987 the picture looks uncannily like my series 4 one except the fairlead doesn't have a hole on it.

However on NTG (bmcfarina) http://www.bmcfarina.com/contents/en-uk/p1...rake_Cable.html it does, but also shows completely different tails.

I'm wondering if the Earlpart picture is a stock one because its the same picture shown as for an A60 and Oxford series 6.

Maybe a phone call will resolve this unless someone has insider knowledge!
Attached File(s)
Attached File  NTG_cable.jpg ( 268.12K ) Number of downloads: 0
Attached File  AUSTIN_CAMBRIDGE_A55_Mk2_MORRIS_OXFORD_Ser_5_HANDBRAKE_CABLE_R_H_D.jpg ( 182.09K ) Number of downloads: 0
Attached File  NTG_detail.jpg ( 291.95K ) Number of downloads: 0
 
Go to the top of the page
PM  
+Quote Post
mrblue
post 14 Aug 2017, 07:35
Post #7


Super Poster
******

Group: Forum Member
Posts: 104
Joined: 6-May 13
From: n/lincs
Member No.: 14,638
Proud citizen of: en


Series 5 Oxford does not fit. It's 3 inch too long. Speedy cables can make you one using your own as a pattern.
Go to the top of the page
PMEmail Poster  
+Quote Post
Martin Hamilton
post 17 Aug 2017, 12:09
Post #8


Super Poster
******

Group: Forum Member
Posts: 213
Joined: 2-June 17
From: Chilton Polden, Yokelshire, Somerset
Member No.: 25,499
Proud citizen of: en


QUOTE (mrblue @ 14 Aug 2017, 07:35 ) *
Series 5 Oxford does not fit. It's 3 inch too long. Speedy cables can make you one using your own as a pattern.


Ta for that, Speedograph (I have found based on advice from P45) can make one from the original pattern to the original part number - see next post.

The benfit from using speedograph is that you don't need to send your old one off so its quicker.

This post has been edited by Martin Hamilton: 17 Aug 2017, 12:38
Go to the top of the page
PM  
+Quote Post
Martin Hamilton
post 17 Aug 2017, 12:16
Post #9


Super Poster
******

Group: Forum Member
Posts: 213
Joined: 2-June 17
From: Chilton Polden, Yokelshire, Somerset
Member No.: 25,499
Proud citizen of: en


Thanks to P45 I ordered a cable from speedograph on Monday. It arrived this morning, so just on 3 days from order to receipt, fantastic!

And £64 including carriage (in the UK) The cable was £45 plus VAT.

This post has been edited by Martin Hamilton: 17 Aug 2017, 12:40
Attached File(s)
Attached File  20170817_121628_1067x800.jpg ( 200.95K ) Number of downloads: 0
 
Go to the top of the page
PM  
+Quote Post
Penguin45
post 17 Aug 2017, 14:47
Post #10


Administrator
Group Icon

Group: Administrator
Posts: 6,660
Joined: 26-November 08
From: Soviet Republic of West Yorkshire
Member No.: 56
Proud citizen of: aq


Well done Martin. It certainly looks the business. I've has speeedo cables from them before and always found them quick and efficient.

P45.
Go to the top of the page
PM  
+Quote Post
Martin Hamilton
post 17 Aug 2017, 14:54
Post #11


Super Poster
******

Group: Forum Member
Posts: 213
Joined: 2-June 17
From: Chilton Polden, Yokelshire, Somerset
Member No.: 25,499
Proud citizen of: en


QUOTE (Penguin45 @ 17 Aug 2017, 14:47 ) *
Well done Martin. It certainly looks the business. I've has speeedo cables from them before and always found them quick and efficient.

P45.


Ta for the original advice mate. I may be back to them for a speedo cable as well, depending on if its that or the speedo that is at fault. But that's a way down the list, the topside rust is next up, followed by window rubbers (any pointers to a supplier?) and probably a complete respray.
Cheers!
Martin
Go to the top of the page
PM  
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd January 2018 - 02:06