The Wolseley Forum

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Automatic reverse light switch
Fred Oldham
post 24 Mar 2017, 15:15
Post #1


Wolseley Fanatic
Group Icon

Group: WOC Member
Posts: 1,521
Joined: 16-August 14
From: Sheffield
Member No.: 19,302
Proud citizen of: en


As per Mr Penguins suggestion, I am starting this as a new topic.
Having been informed that my 'box has no provision for the fitting of a switch, I decided to see if the movement of the gear change levers lent themselves to the connection of a suitable switch.
This morning I put the car up on the lift and took photos of the levers in every gear position. Starting with Neutral and going through First to Fourth and finally Reverse.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  IMG_1060.JPG ( 1.34MB ) Number of downloads: 0
Attached File  IMG_1061.JPG ( 1.25MB ) Number of downloads: 0
Attached File  IMG_1062.JPG ( 1.35MB ) Number of downloads: 0
 
Go to the top of the page
PMEmail Poster  
+Quote Post
Fred Oldham
post 24 Mar 2017, 15:17
Post #2


Wolseley Fanatic
Group Icon

Group: WOC Member
Posts: 1,521
Joined: 16-August 14
From: Sheffield
Member No.: 19,302
Proud citizen of: en


File size too big. Here's the rest.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  IMG_1064.JPG ( 1.3MB ) Number of downloads: 0
Attached File  IMG_1065.JPG ( 1.29MB ) Number of downloads: 0
Attached File  IMG_1066.JPG ( 1.21MB ) Number of downloads: 0
 
Go to the top of the page
PMEmail Poster  
+Quote Post
Fred Oldham
post 24 Mar 2017, 15:23
Post #3


Wolseley Fanatic
Group Icon

Group: WOC Member
Posts: 1,521
Joined: 16-August 14
From: Sheffield
Member No.: 19,302
Proud citizen of: en


The relevant lever is the right-hand one and the final photo shows the level almost horizontal in the Reverse position. So, I need a switch fastened above the lever, such that the lever presses it closed when reverse is selected; or attached below and attached by a spring that pulls it closed.
I obviously don't want to drill holes in the gearbox casing, so it's a question of finding an attachment point that I can bolt to.There appears to be a row of bolts on the bottom at the other side that could have some sort of bracket fitted to carry the switch.
With a bit of luck I'll find a suitable switch at next weeks NEC.

This post has been edited by Fred Oldham: 24 Mar 2017, 15:27
Go to the top of the page
PMEmail Poster  
+Quote Post
Penguin45
post 24 Mar 2017, 15:33
Post #4


Administrator
Group Icon

Group: Administrator
Posts: 6,660
Joined: 26-November 08
From: Soviet Republic of West Yorkshire
Member No.: 56
Proud citizen of: aq


What's the panel top right with the screw in the last pic? Could you bring a bracket down from there?

P45.
Go to the top of the page
PM  
+Quote Post
FlyingW
post 24 Mar 2017, 17:08
Post #5


Wolseley Fanatic
Group Icon

Group: Forum Moderators
Posts: 1,864
Joined: 21-June 10
From: North Wales
Member No.: 812
Proud citizen of: wales


What appears to be a very acute angle in the speedo cable would worry me, it might be an illusion from where the photo was taken, but worth checking out.
Go to the top of the page
PMEmail Poster  
+Quote Post
Fred Oldham
post 24 Mar 2017, 17:54
Post #6


Wolseley Fanatic
Group Icon

Group: WOC Member
Posts: 1,521
Joined: 16-August 14
From: Sheffield
Member No.: 19,302
Proud citizen of: en


Mr P. That panel is the surround for the clutch operating lever. A possible, but maybe a little too far away.

Flying W. Yes, the speedo cable does need some attention. It's probably the cause of the needle jumping about so much. One of those things I forget until the next time I drive the car. Now that it's in my mind I might remember to have a look at it tomorrow.

One thing I did notice while I was underneath was the oil drip from the bell-housing hole. The crappy standard crank oil seal isn't sealing, but it will take something a lot more catastrophic than that before the engine comes out again!
Go to the top of the page
PMEmail Poster  
+Quote Post
ozieagle
post 24 Mar 2017, 20:02
Post #7


Wolseley Fanatic
*******

Group: Forum Member
Posts: 689
Joined: 8-October 11
From: Geelong, Australia
Member No.: 6,924
Proud citizen of: au


As P45 mentioned, a bracket from the clutch arm cover, with a generic microswitch.

Herb
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Micro_switch.jpg ( 5.67K ) Number of downloads: 0
 
Go to the top of the page
PMEmail Poster  
+Quote Post
austinlancer1962
post 24 Mar 2017, 22:24
Post #8


Super Poster
******

Group: Forum Member
Posts: 190
Joined: 16-May 11
From: healesville, victoria, australia
Member No.: 3,772
Proud citizen of: au


Fred
For the switch, have a look online.
There used to be bolt on brake light switches for motorcycles that operated off their brake pedal rods, which might work.
Mick
Go to the top of the page
PM  
+Quote Post
Fred Oldham
post 24 Mar 2017, 23:47
Post #9


Wolseley Fanatic
Group Icon

Group: WOC Member
Posts: 1,521
Joined: 16-August 14
From: Sheffield
Member No.: 19,302
Proud citizen of: en


Having had a motorcycle in the dim and distant Mick, that's exactly what I was thinking.
Go to the top of the page
PMEmail Poster  
+Quote Post
FlyingW
post 25 Mar 2017, 01:02
Post #10


Wolseley Fanatic
Group Icon

Group: Forum Moderators
Posts: 1,864
Joined: 21-June 10
From: North Wales
Member No.: 812
Proud citizen of: wales


As for the oil leak, as the person who looks after my Silver Spirit says: it's 'British what do you expect!' A minute amount goes a long way on the floor, but at a pint every 600 miles and 6.75 litres I will not be losing any sleep over it anytime soon. My Wolseley also leaves it's mark when parked.
Go to the top of the page
PMEmail Poster  
+Quote Post
MYKE
post 25 Mar 2017, 16:47
Post #11


Wolseley Fanatic
Group Icon

Group: WOC Member
Posts: 1,403
Joined: 11-February 12
From: exiled yorkshireman.Scunthorpe North Lincs
Member No.: 9,175
Proud citizen of: en


Fred,
Have a look at the linkage around the selector lever on the steering column. There should be only one position for it to be in when you select reverse and it should be possible to rig up a micro switch to work from it. Should be easier than scrabbling about underneath.

MYKE.
Go to the top of the page
PM  
+Quote Post
Fred Oldham
post 25 Mar 2017, 17:28
Post #12


Wolseley Fanatic
Group Icon

Group: WOC Member
Posts: 1,521
Joined: 16-August 14
From: Sheffield
Member No.: 19,302
Proud citizen of: en


Good thinking Myke. I'll have a look at that. While I was laid underneath this morning, it occurred to me that the bell housing is hollow and could easily be drilled and tapped to fix a bracket to carry a switch. The wire feeding the reverse light passes close by.
Go to the top of the page
PMEmail Poster  
+Quote Post
Fred Oldham
post 12 Jun 2017, 21:49
Post #13


Wolseley Fanatic
Group Icon

Group: WOC Member
Posts: 1,521
Joined: 16-August 14
From: Sheffield
Member No.: 19,302
Proud citizen of: en


I finally got around to buying a motorcycle brake light switch. It came today, so sometime very soon I will get it fitted.
Go to the top of the page
PMEmail Poster  
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd January 2018 - 02:05